2016-2017 Awards Night

The Dawson Creek Junior Canucks held their Banquet and Awards Night at Boston Pizza tonight. President Rob Huttema acknowledged the efforts of so many people who helped the Juniors have a great season: Coach Gene Cooper, GM/Coach Brian Mackenzie, Assistant Coach Colby Wagar, Trainer Brad Lacey, Glen Power; Jr Canuck Executive Mike Finkle, Toni Krantz, Pat Johnston; Director of Hockey Operations Josh Round; Directors Becky Needham, Brooke Bassett, Shawn Brinsky, Christina Wards, Ken Reitsma; Devon Gies, Jeremy Cronier, all the Billet Families, and all the volunteers who worked tirelessly to make the season a success.

Each player was presented with a team photo. Every Year, the jr Canucks present a number of trophies acknowledging players who deserve recognition:

Team High Scorer:  Wesley Shipton

Team High Scorer sponsored by RBC: # 11 Wesley Shipton - also League Scoring Leader, with 52 pts in 29 games: 27 goals & 25 assists, with 16 penalty minutes.

Floyd Brandvold Memorial Most Valuable Player sponsored by PNG:

#23 Mark Readman

Most Valuable Defenceman sponsored by Liberty Tax:

#9 Captain Collin Mathieson

Rookie of the Year sponsored by Promo Shoppe: #24 Dustin Bahm

Most Sportsmanlike Player sponsored by On-Side Restoration: #6 Trey Nichol

Most Improved Player sponsored by KFC: #19 Ethan Buck

Most Dedicated Player sponsored by Dice Petroleum: #27 Kohlman Brinsky

Playoff MVP sponsored by Boston Pizza: #29 Tanner Bahm

Unsung Hero sponsored by Curtis York Trucking: #10 Tommy Dokken

Jeremy Cronier:

Behind the Scenes Award from the Coaches

Our 21 year old players who have completed their Jr B career are:

#18 Wyatt Warnes, #9 Collin Mathieson, and #23 Mark Readman

Best of Luck in the Future, Boys. You will be missed.

Stay tuned for information on the Junior Canucks Hockey School coming up in August, as well as Training and Selection Camps in early September.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts